Prime Minister inaugurates Kosi Rail Mahasetu in Bihar

Prime Minister Narendra Modi dedicated Kosi Rail Mahasetu of the Indian Railways to the nation on 18 September 2020. He also inaugurated new rail lines and electrification projects in the state for the benefit of passengers.

The projects including inauguration of Kosi Mahasetu (mega bridge) and Kiul Bridge, electrification projects are worth about Rs 3,000 crore. These projects will not only strengthen Bihar’s rail network but also strengthen West Bengal and Eastern India’s rail connectivity.

The construction of two Mahasetus was started in Patna and Munger four years ago. With the commissioning of these two rail bridges, the travel between North and South Bihar has eased and this has initiated a new momentum for development especially in North Bihar.

The Supaul-Asanpur-Kupha rail route has been dedicated to the nation. The new Kosi rail line was envisaged in 2003. The project was fast tracked and work has been completed on Supaul-Asanpur Kupaha route using modern technology.

Moreover, the Saharsa-Asanpur Kupha train was flagged off by the PM from Supaul railway station. The train service is expected to be beneficial to the districts of Arariya, Supaul and Saharsa. Also, for people of the region, this would make it easy for long distance journeys to Delhi, Kolkata and Mumbai.

With this mega bridge the journey of 300 km is reduced to 22 km. It will also promote business and employment in the entire region.

Besides the mega bridge, 12 Indian Railways’ projects related to passenger facilities were also inaugurated. These include five electrification projects, electric locomotive shed, new railway bridge on the Kiul River, two new railway lines and third line project between Barh-Bakhtiyarpur.

Two new line projects at Islampur-Nateshar and Hajipur-Ghoswar-Vaishali were launched. This service will give a lot of boost to tourism in Vaishali and new jobs will be created. The PM also inaugurated the third line between Barh and Bakhiyarpur as well as Karnauti-Bakhtiyarpur link bypass.

Besides, five electrification projects — Samastipur-Darbhanga-Jaynagar section, Muzaffarpur-Sitamarhi section, Samastipur-Khagaria section, Katihar-New Jalpaiguri section, Bhagalpur-Shivnarayanpur section — was also be inaugurated.

Print pagePDF pageEmail page


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here