The Union urban development ministry on 3 November 2015 asserted that there will be no extension of time beyond 15 December 2015 for submission of city-level Smart City plans by the respective urban local bodies and states. This was made clear by the ministry at a meeting with principal secretaries of state urban development departments and municipal commissioners of some cities included in the Smart City Mission, from nine states.

The states represented at the meeting were Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal, Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Maharashtra and Nagaland. In fact, some municipal commissioners stated that they have been working on the Smart City Plans to meet the 15 December deadline and if the ministry would consider extending the deadline if such requests were received

Print pagePDF pageEmail page