thermal-powerRenovation and modernization of 110 MW Unit 7 of Barauni thermal power station and 110 MW Unit 1 of Muzaffarpur thermal power station is expected to be completed this month. The Barauni Unit was initially expected to be completed in November 2011 and the Muzaffarpur Unit in April 2012. However, delay in the main plant works of the units delayed the projects. According to the project authorities, the Units are now in advanced stages of completion and are expected to be completed within this month.

Kanti Bijlee Utpadan Nigam Ltd, a joint venture of NTPC Ltd and Bihar State Electricity Board, has undertaken the R&M of the Muzafafrpur Unit. Formerly known as Vaishali Power Generating Company Ltd, KBUNL was set up to take over the 2×110 mw Muzaffarpur TPS and renovate the power plant. NTPC and BSEB are contributing 51 per cent and 49 per cent of equity respectively. The R&M of the main plant package was awarded to BHEL in April 2010 while the R&M of balance of plant is being carried out by the developer.

The R&M of Barauni Units is being carried out by the Bihar State Electricity Board. The main plant package contractor for the project is BHEL.

The Barauni TPS units 6 and 7 of 110 MW capacity each were commissioned during May 1983 and March 1985 respectively whereas Muzaffarpur TPS unit l and 2 of 110 MW capacity each were commissioned during March 1985 and March 1986 respectively. In 2005, these units were identified for carrying out life extension works. Planning commission has approved cost estimate of Rs. 1053 crores for life extension works of the units. Unit 6 of Barauni and Unit 2 of Muzaffarpur thermal plants are expected to be completed by December 2013.

Print pagePDF pageEmail page