New Airports

The Government of India has approved for the establishment of 21 new Greenfield Airports across the country. These airports will come up at Mopa in Goa, Navi Mumbai, Shirdi, and Sindhudurg in Maharashtra, Kalaburagi, Vijayapura, Hassan, and Shivamogga in Karnataka, Dabra (Gwalior) in Madhya Pradesh, Kushinagar and Noida (Jewar) in Uttar Pradesh, Dholera and Hirasar in Gujarat, Karaikal in Puducherry, Dagadarthi, Bhogapuram, and Orvakal (Kurnool) in Andhra Pradesh, Durgapur in West Bengal, Pakyong in Sikkim, Kannur in Kerala, and Hollongi (Itanagar) in Arunachal Pradesh.

Out of these 21 Greenfield airports, 11 have already become operational. These operational airports are Durgapur, Shirdi, Kannur, Pakyong, Kalaburagi, Orvakal (Kurnool), Sindhudurg, Kushinagar, Itanagar, Mopa, and Shivamogga.

Furthermore, the State Government of Tamil Nadu has applied for the first stage clearance, known as ‘Site-Clearance,’ for the development of a Greenfield airport at Parandur in Kancheepuram District, Tamil Nadu. This proposal is being reviewed by various stakeholders, including the Airports Authority of India (AAI), Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA), and Ministry of Defence (MoD). Once the consultations are completed, the proposal will be presented to the Steering Committee on Greenfield Airports for their recommendation regarding the Site Clearance.

The development and implementation of airport projects, including funding, land acquisition, and rehabilitation and resettlement, are the responsibility of the concerned airport developers, including the respective State Governments if they are the project proponents. The timelines for airport construction depend on various factors, such as land acquisition, obtaining necessary clearances, overcoming obstacles, and achieving financial closure, all managed by the airport developers.

The Greenfield Airports (GFA) Policy, formulated by the Government of India in 2008, outlines the procedure and conditions for the development of new Greenfield airports in the country. The approval process involves two stages: first, the ‘Site-Clearance,’ followed by the ‘In-Principle’ approval.

Flying Training Organisations

Regarding Flying Training Organizations (FTOs), three FTOs have been established in Khajuraho, adding to the existing total of six FTOs in Madhya Pradesh. These FTOs in the state, spread across Khajuraho, Indore, Sagar, and Guna, will significantly contribute to producing pilots for the aviation industry.

Courtsey: PIB

One of the initiatives taken under the ‘Aatmanirbhar Bharat’ (Self-Reliant India) campaign by the honorable Prime Minister is the establishment of the Indian Flying Academy, which operates at Khajuraho Airport and is a part of Shaurya Flight Sim Pvt Ltd.

Print pagePDF pageEmail page