Dr. Dipti Ranjan Sahoo_ProjectsMonitor

Dr. Dipti Ranjan Sahoo_ProjectsMonitorDr. Dipti Ranjan Sahoo is Assistant Professor – Structural Engineering Division, Department of Civil Engineering, IIT Delhi. Prior to joining as Assistant Professor he worked in the School of Infrastructure, IIT Bhubaneswar for six months. From 1997 to 1998, he worked as trainee engineer for National Highway Division-I, Cuttack in Odisha and also at IIT Kanpur as senior project engineer for five months ended in July, 2008.

Dr. Dipti Ranjan Sahoo received his B. E. (2001) in Civil Engineering from Indira Gandhi Institute of Technology (Utkal University), M. Tech. (2003) and Ph. D. (2008) in Structural Engineering specialization from Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kanpur. He worked as Post-doctoral Fellow in the Department of Civil Engineering at the University of Texas at Arlington, USA for a period of two years.

He was the principal investigator for many projects. Some of them include evaluation of load bearing capacity of scaffolding systems at Layher Scaffoldings Systems Pvt. Ltd, New Delhi and proof checking of design and drawings of the collapsed bridge across Jhelum near Bandi, NHPC Ltd, Baramulla, J&K, etc. He was also co-principal investigator in proof checking of detailed design for Kolkata Metro, Rail Vikas Nigam Ltd, New Delhi and Proof-checking of panel buildings for NALCO, RITES Ltd, Bhubaneswar, Odisha.

His areas of research include Dynamic and inelastic behaviour of steel and reinforced concrete structures, Large-scale testing of structural systems, performance-based plastic design, finite element modeling, seismic evaluation and strengthening, supplemental damping and passive energy dissipation devices, and steel fiber reinforced concrete structures. He is the reviewer of many international and national journals, and the member of several international and national professional organizations.

His achievement in the field of structural (earthquake) engineering has made him the INAE Young Engineer Award 2012. Among the other prominent awards to name are the DAE Young Scientist Research Award (2012), Board of Research in Nuclear Sciences, Department Atomic Energy, and DST Young Scientist Award (2011), Science & Engineering Research Council, Department of Science & Technology.

Print pagePDF pageEmail page